Information for potential Fellows of the Society
The CSB/SCB at its biannual meeting in Montreal adopted the following standards for a new class of member, Fellow of the Society.

To become a Fellow:

  • Members should submit a letter to the Secretariat (see below)
  • A curriculum vitae
  • The member should also identify the approximate year when s/he became a member and/or a student member, if applicable, of the Society.

Note, that a fee of fifty dollars ($50 CDN) was approved to help defray the costs of processing applications. It was further approved that applicants be required to fill out a form that identifies the criterion necessary for recommendation to Fellow status.

This form is available from the website here: Fellow Application

Send applications to:

Secretariat, Canadian Society for Biomechanics
c/o Andrew Laing, Ph.D.
Department of Kinesiology
University of Waterloo
200 University Avenue West
Waterloo, Ontario N2L 3G1
Tel: +1 519 888 4567 x38947
Fax: +1 519 746 6776

Criteria for nomination to Fellow status in the Canadian Society for Biomechanics

Shall have demonstrated high standards of academic development and a commitment to the goals and long range activities of the Society:

  • Shall have been a member of the Society for eight consecutive years (up to two of which may have been earned as a student member) immediately prior to applying for Fellowship.
  • Shall have attended at least three biannual meetings of the Society during the past ten years.
  • Publication of at least eight full papers on biomechanics as principal author in peer reviewed journals of national or international distribution such as those listed in Index Medicus or Current Contents, in addition ten publications from any combination of invited book chapters or coauthored refereed publications.
  • Shall have authorship of at least ten papers at biannual meetings of the Society.
  • Authorship includes being presenter or supervisor of the research.
  • Shall have received recommendation for advancement to Fellow status in writing from two current Fellows of the Society.
Current and future Career Award winners will automatically be elevated to Fellow status. The first Fellows of the Society are: Drs. David Winter, Robert Norman, Gavin Reid and Micheline Gagnon.